Darts news

After a long period of Milton Keynes dates, Premier League darts make a return after five months and a week

The final results of the Premier League will be defined after six nights of darts at the Marshall Arena.

The 2020 Unibet Premier League will make its return on Tuesday. It will take place at the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes after a long period of six months being filled with six straight nights of top-class action.

On Tuesday’s Night Seven, the first Premier League fixtures will take place after the visit to Liverpool on March 12. It was the last PDC event to be held in a traditional way before the whole darts world being suspended and frozen because of the serious effects of the Covid-19 pandemic.

The tournament will soon be kicked off in form of six successive nights being held behind the closed doors from the 25th to 30th of August, and also before the final four nights of the league phase take place from September 2-5 in the race to the Play-Offs, which are set to take place at The O2 in London on October 22.

During this special Night Seven event, Michael Gerwen will come up with Rob Cross in a repeat of the 2019 Premier League final. In the 2019 Premier League, the Dutchman has gained the 11-5 triumph which successfully helped him to earn his fourth successive title and his fifth triumph in the event.

This world number one dart champion is looking to bounce back from the disappointment at the World Matchplay. During this season, he suffered from a shock defeat made by Simon Whitlock in the second round, meanwhile Cross will be hoping to steer himself away from elimination danger.

“Of course it was such a kind of disappointment to lose at the World Matchplay, but sometimes these things can happen in darts,” Van Gerwen shared his viewpoint.